Drugs: Costs & Consequences

Opening Eyes to the Damage Drugs Cause

Development Partners

Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA)


CADCA's mission is to prevent alcohol, tobacco, and other drug abuse. Since 1992, CADCA has demonstrated that when all sectors of a community come together—social change happens. CADCA is the premier membership organization representing those working to make their communities safe, healthy and drug-free. We have members in every U.S. state and territory and working in 18 countries around the world. Special programs within CADCA are supporting our returning veterans and their families and training youth leaders to be effective agents of change–all through the coalition model.

Center for Substance Abuse Prevention – SAMHSA


SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) works with federal, state, public, and private organizations to develop comprehensive prevention systems that improve behavioral health in the United States through evidence-based prevention approaches. CSAP provides national leadership in the development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the onset of illegal drug use, prescription drug misuse and abuse, alcohol misuse and abuse, and underage alcohol and tobacco use. CSAP also promotes effective substance abuse prevention practices that enable states, communities, and other organizations to apply prevention knowledge effectively.

The National Institute on Drug Abuse – NIDA


NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction. This charge has two critical components. The first is the strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines. The second is ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

Office of National Drug Control Policy – ONDCP


The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP), a component of the Executive Office of the President, was established by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988. The principal purpose of ONDCP is to establish policies, priorities, and objectives for the Nation's drug control program. The goals of the program are to reduce illicit drug use, manufacturing, and trafficking, drug-related crime and violence, and drug-related health consequences. To achieve these goals, the Director of ONDCP is charged with producing the National Drug Control Strategy. The Strategy directs the Nation's anti-drug efforts and establishes a program, a budget, and guidelines for cooperation among Federal, State, and local entities.

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids


Partnership for Drug-Free Kids is a nonprofit organization that unites parents, renowned scientists and communications professionals to help families raise healthy children. Best known for its research-based national public education programs, the Partnership motivates and equips parents to prevent their children from using drugs and alcohol, and to find help and treatment for family and friends in trouble.

The DEA Museum gratefully acknowledges the generosity of the following organizations and individuals for supporting the development of the content of this exhibit:

  • Alexandria Police
  • Arlington County Police
  • Center for Substance Abuse Prevention
  • Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
  • Central Intelligence Agency
  • CNS Productions
  • Daytop
  • DEA Audiovisual Office
  • DEA Graphics Office
  • DEA Los Angeles Field Division
  • DEA Library
  • DEA Miami Field Division
  • DEA Office of Diversion Control
  • DEA Office of Intelligence
  • DEA Operations Division
  • DEA Operational Support Division
  • DEA Washington Field Division
  • Department of Defense
  • Dittrick Museum
  • Entertainment Industries Council
  • Fairfax County Police
  • Films for the Humanities & Sciences
  • Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Kelley McEnery Baker Foundation
  • Loudoun County Government
  • Loudoun County Public Schools
  • Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office
  • Library of Congress
  • Maryland State Police
  • Montgomery County Police
  • Narcotic Overdose Prevention and Education
  • The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University
  • National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse
  • New Orleans Police Department
  • Oregon Partnership
  • Photos.com
  • Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
  • Prince George’s County Police
  • Prince William County Police
  • Publishers Group
  • Save A Star Foundation
  • Sierra Madre Alliance
  • St. Petersburg College-Multijurisdictional Counterdrug Task Force Training
  • Thinkstock by Getty Images (licensed material is for illustrative purposes only, and any person depicted in the licensed material is a model)
  • United Nations
  • University of Maryland Center for Substance Abuse Research
  • U.S. Department of State
  • Vienna Virginia Police
  • Virginia State Police
  • Washington Metropolitan Police

DEA Educational Foundation Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

  • William Alden, Chairman
  • Ms. Jill Roberts

Board of Directors:

  • William Alden, Chairman
  • Mr. James McGivney, Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Daniel Staffieri, Treasurer (Ex-Officio)
  • Mr. Lewis Rice, Jr., Secretary


  • Ms. Jodi Avergun, Esquire
  • Mr. Charles Blau, Esquire
  • Mark Gold, M.D.
  • Mr. David Katz
  • Ms. Colleen Maloof
  • Ms. Helen Mars
  • Ms. EJ Milken
  • Ms. Carol Safir
  • Dr. Charles Sophy
  • Ms. Sue Thau
  • Mr. Walter Wang
  • Mr. Michael Yamaki, Esquire

Ex-Officio Board Members:

  • The Honorable John Bartels, Jr.
  • The Honorable Peter Bensinger
  • The Honorable Asa Hutchinson
  • The Honorable John C. Lawn
  • The Honorable Michele Leonhart
  • The Honorable Donnie R. Marshall
  • The Honorable Francis B. Mullen
  • The Honorable Karen Tandy
  • Mr. John Costanzo
  • Mr. Scott Canales
  • Ms. Jessica Nickel
  • Mr. Kevin Sabet

DEA Museum Staff:

  • Jan McKay Wrzesinski, Museum Director
  • Stephen Stuart, Deputy Director
  • Vince Lutes, Collections Manager
  • Joshua Edmundson, Curator of Education

Exhibit Contributors:

  • Emanuela Appetiti, Researcher
  • Tara DeGarmo, Photography Curator
  • Susan Fox, Exhibit Educator
  • Catherine Harnett
  • Michael Harris, Consulting Historian
  • Jonathan Kapaldo, Graphics Assistant
  • Susie Kelly, Photo Researcher
  • Alice Martin, Contributor
  • John Parascandola, Contributor
  • Trudy Pearson, Photo Researcher
  • Kevin Simmers, Contributor
  • Capitol Museum Services, Exhibit Fabrication
  • Chris White Designs, Exhibit Designer
  • Jen Harris Studio, Exhibit Design Layout
  • The Redmon Group, Exhibit Interactives